9780774864473_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
list price: $39.95
also available: eBook Hardcover
category: History
published: Aug 2021
publisher: UBC Press

Translating the Occupation

The Japanese Invasion of China, 1931–45

edited by Jonathan Henshaw; Craig A. Smith & Norman Smith

tagged: china, japan, world war ii, pacific theater

From 1931 to 1945, Chinese citizens were subjugated to Japanese imperialism. Despite the enduring historical importance of the occupation, Translating the Occupation is the first English-language volume to provide such a diverse selection of important primary sources from this period. Contributors have translated Chinese, Japanese, and Korean texts on a wide range of subjects, focusing on writers who have long been considered problematic or outright traitorous. This volume offers a practical, accessible sourcebook from which to challenge standard narratives. It deepens our understanding of the myriad tensions and transformations at work in Chinese wartime society.

About the Authors

Jonathan Henshaw

Craig A. Smith

Norman Smith

Contributor Notes

Jonathan Henshaw is a postdoctoral research fellow at the Institute of Modern History, Academia Sinica. He is now authoring a biography of Kiang Kang-hu. Craig A. Smith is a lecturer at the University of Melbourne. His articles have appeared in Modern Chinese Literature and Culture, Twentieth-Century China, and Modern Asian Studies. He is currently working on a book about twentieth-century China-centred regionalism. Norman Smith is a professor of history at the University of Guelph. He is the author of Resisting Manchukuo: Chinese Women Writers and Japanese Occupation and Intoxicating Manchuria: Alcohol, Opium, and Culture in China’s Northeast.


Contributors: Xue Bingjie, Timothy Cheek, Timothy Cronin, Annika A. Culver, Son Yoo Di, Matthew Galway, Timothy Iles, Lee Jonghyun, Naoko Kato, Jennifer Junwa Lau, David Luesink, Brian G. Martin, Janice Matsumura, Ota Norio, Xie Miya Qiong, Christopher Rea, Morgan Rocks, Hua Rui, Bill Sewell, Ronald Suleski, Torsten Weber, Guo Weiting, Yun Xia, Wang Yu, Zhang Yuanfang.

Buy the e-book:

Contacting facebook
Please wait...