9781771512619_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
list price: $16.95
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: April 2018
publisher: TouchWood Editions

It Begins in Betrayal

by Iona Whishaw

tagged: historical, women sleuths

The fourth book in what the Globe and Mail has proclaimed “a terrific series” by “a writer to watch.”

Summer descends over the picturesque King’s Cove as Darling and Lane’s mutual affection blossoms. But their respite from solving crime is cut short when a British government official arrives in Nelson to compel Darling to return to England for questioning about the death of a rear gunner under his command in 1943.

In Darling’s absence, Ames oversees the investigation into the suspicious death of a local elderly woman and uncovers a painful betrayal inflicted forty years earlier. Meanwhile, Lane follows Darling to London, where he is charged with murder and faces hanging. While desperately seeking answers, Lane is presented with a proposal that could save the man she loves, but only if she returns to the very life she sought to leave behind.

About the Author

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband. Visit her at ionawhishaw.com

Editorial Review

"The characters in this series are well-drawn and the moving back and forth between the past . . . and the current drama in her chosen new life are well handled. . . . If you are a fan of British mysteries, as I am, you will love this series." —Lee Trentadue, owner of Galiano Island Books

— 49th Shelf
Contacting facebook
Please wait...