9781771512404_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2017
ISBN:9781771512404
publisher: TouchWood Editions

An Old, Cold Grave

by Iona Whishaw

tagged: historical, women sleuths
Description

The third book in the popular Lane Winslow mystery series by an author the Globe and Mail has called a “writer to watch.”

It’s early spring of 1947 in idyllic King’s Cove, and the Hughes ladies, mère et filles, are gardening and sorting through the jars of food that have been put up for the winter. But while cleaning up after the roof of their root cellar has caved in slightly, they are horrified to discover a small skeletal hand embedded in the mess. Panicked, they call Lane Winslow, the ex-British secret service agent, and, not without some misgivings about the state of their tense relationship, Lane calls Inspector Darling.

Before long the police crew discover the body of a young child buried almost 40 years before. Who is the child, and why has it not been buried in the local cemetery? Inspector Darling, already busy dealing with a teenage girl who has gone on a destructive rampage at a local mill, asks Lane for help in unearthing the long-forgotten secrets of the early life of the tiny town, and the identity of the long-forgotten child.

This delightful new historical mystery series will appeal to fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford.

About the Author

Iona Whishaw was born in British Columbia. After living her early years in the Kootenays, she spent her formative years living and learning in Mexico, Nicaragua, and the US. She travelled extensively for pleasure and education before settling in the Vancouver area. Throughout her roles as youth worker, social worker, teacher, and award-winning high school principal, her love of writing remained consistent, and compelled her to obtain her master’s in creative writing from the University of British Columbia. Iona has published short fiction, poetry, poetry translation, and one children’s book, Henry and the Cow Problem. A Killer in King’s Cove was her first adult novel. Her heroine, Lane Winslow, was inspired by Iona’s mother who, like her father before her, was a wartime spy. Visit ionawhishaw.com to find out more.

Editorial Reviews

"This series, with a strong and likable female protagonist . . . continues to get better and better. The novels not only use the past as a setting, but there are lessons about history—and how the consequences of past actions always catch up, sooner or later, with those involved." —Reviewing the Evidence blog

— Reviewing the Evidence Blog

"If you enjoy a puzzle set in 1947, rural B.C. community, with dialogue that reaches into the soul and a sense of place that is integral to the mystery, then An Old, Cold Grave is a summer read for you . . . In short, sin, plot, dialogue and place: all the requisite elements for an award-winning novel. It’s easy to imagine a fourth in this increasingly “ne series."

— The Bay Observer

"Lane Winslow, the intrepid sleuth of King's Cove, is back in her third adventure and, like the first two, it's a charmer. Once again, British Columbia's own Iona Whishaw's delightful modern gloss on the venerable British cozy provides a perfect weekend getaway . . . a cleverly plotted story with a delightful setting and amusing characters. Once again, Whishaw keeps us guessing to the end."

— Globe and Mail

"Lane Winslow is a strong, independent woman. She may not be an official “detective” by profession (she’s an ex-British intelligent officer), but in many ways she reminds me of Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs. Lane is smart and sympathetic, and determined to solve this mystery . . . a satisfying historical mystery featuring a strong female protagonist. I can’t wait to catch up on this series."

— Hidden Staircase blog

An Old, Cold Grave—Iona Whishaw’s compelling third novel—gives us a gentle rural setting, a body in a root cellar, and, of course, Lane Winslow, the best new amateur sleuth to come along in quite some time. Plot, dialogue, and place: all the requisite elements for an award-winning novel.

— Don Graves, Canadian Mystery reviews

A fascinating picture of a life in which many people spent every waking hour working and a disturbing look at the fate of orphaned children raise this mystery above the ordinary.

— Kirkus Reviews

"This is the third in a mystery series featuring Lane Winslow, and it is the best. The story is deeper, with themes of identity and belonging and survival in hard times that are quite moving. I look forward to reading the next Lane Winslow mystery and can wholeheartedly recommend this to those who enjoy the cozy mystery genre."

— Between Life and Dreamer blog

"This cozy mystery series hits the spot for a relaxing night. It’s a down home fuzzy feel good murder mystery." —NikBookLover blog

— NikBookLover Blog
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...